Birthday with Man Flu :-( Week 4 review

Total completed 193km

Total remaining 2807km

Total raised £1120

Week 4 and my Birthday week, as mentioned last week I was hoping to start running in the early mornings this week. I had planned a nice easy transition into it. I had the Monday and Tuesday off work so thought I would go mid morning on the Monday and then early morning on the Tuesday. The Monday run went great I hit 8km which meant I had got back to back 8km for the first time since my shin problems happy days.

I went to bed Monday night all ready for the morning run and woke up with a major dose of Man Flu, how crappy is that not only had it screwed my entire plan but had scuppered my Birthday celebrations.

Manflu

I will admit now that I am the world’s worst ill person even the slightest cold has me mopping around like a grumpy old man, ok well a more grumpier than usual and a year older man 😦 .  I am not sure why I feel so sorry for myself it’s my wife I should feel sorry for she has to live with me through this near death man flu experience (well sore throat and snuffly nose shhhhhh). People had said to me when I said I was going to be doing this challenge “what are you going to do when you’re sick” Well I can now answer your question. What I will do is bitch and moan about the fact that I didn’t give myself any rest days haul my Vicks Vaper Rub soaked kit on while grumbling about how ill I am and that I am sure this is the run that will spell the end of me, farewell world blah blah blah and then much to Tash’s relief leave the house.

After all my whining it was in fact the best thing I could have done (I can sense Tash nodding as I am typing this) I don’t mean just leaving the house but going for that run did wonders. It took a couple of kilometres but my head started to clear and I just felt a lot better and what started off as a let’s just get 5km done and then back home have a cup of tea and a mope turned into a really good 8km run….. Hurray

Wednesday evening and I had an appointment with Carl Dunstan at http://www.a-therapy.co.uk/ in Nottingham for a full body performance matrix . I have been going to Carl since I had issues with my calves last season and he really did sort me out and helped get me through the Outlaw. So I was chuffed to bits when Carl mentioned that A therapy would be willing to help me stay in one working piece during this years challenge. The timing could not have been better as I was starting to get concerns as to why I was having a really up and down start to this challenge. During the session I had a real good chat with Carl we went through my Pre and Post run routines which thankfully were pretty well received and then onto the actual performance matrix.

This went pretty much as expected I have always had issues with my feet leading to the orthotics Carl sorted me with last season and so obviosly this came up as a major area of concern. The 2 other areas were my shouders and hips, and due to a number of motorcycle crashes I knew that there would be an issue there. So I ended up on 17/50 (low scores are good) So very pleased with that and it has given me renewed confidence that I can succeed in hitting my goal. (I will upload the full report when I get it)

I had decided to run back home after my visit to Carl and what a mistake that was. I had not given it much advanced thought and realised as I set off that I would have at least 2 pretty sizable hills and that I had not done

  1. Any of my pre run routine
  2. Had any proper Nutrition (solids or liquid)

I was very soon suffering and luckily for once the ice was that bad on some of the downhill sections that I had to walk down them and I really needed to as I was struggling bad I got home and just collapsed. Isn’t it annoying when you are told yep your in pretty good nick and yep your doing everything right and then you head off ignoring everything you’ve been doing and everything you have been told and run yourself into the ground……. IDIOT !!!!!!!!

running-bonk

Well that was a very painful lesson learnt, luckily though I got a great present for my Birthday “Epsom salts” and following a good soak and then some pretty hardcore massaging on my calves, ankles and feet followed by a liberal coating of deep heat and then compression things started to feel much better. The next couple of runs have shown that I have been lucky not to have had any issues following my stupidity. So proof that if you have a plan that is working stick to it.

As I headed into the weekend the the snow had started to go and one heavy downpour on Saturday night completely cleared it. The snow for me had been great and had been a massive help when I was struggling through the pain. But once it had starting going from Ice into Slush it was just a bloody nightmare, so to run on clear paths again was a joy and it was so nice to get back into double figures on both Saturdays and Sundays runs.

Next week I will be attempting to move onto morning runs again (fingers crossed) and it will also see me smash through 200km. The actual end of month target is 254km but with 4 runs left  I am hoping to get as close as possible. But with all that has happened this month just to be close is a great feeling.

2 thoughts on “Birthday with Man Flu :-( Week 4 review

  1. I was looking for your Day 1 post and found this. Hilarious! What is it with you men and your colds? My husband is the same way with the sniffles. 🙂
    I have a couple of similar posts (from Jan) about getting sick right after starting daily running and waking up w/ back pain for no reason. I think we had to run the kinks out early on. At least, I hope so…

  2. Pingback: Performance Matrix by Atherapy | 365 days 3000 km

Let me know what you think

