Spring running in a foot of snow (week 12 review)

Total completed 671km

Total remaining 2329km

Total raised £1385

I have started to feel over the last couple of weeks that I am getting a little bored with my runs, pounding km after km of pavement alongside a main road is not the best for inspiring me to get out of my nice warm bed at 5am is it. The problem with this is that it has started to affect my run schedule, as on a couple of occasions I have just not had the desire to get up and get out on my morning runs, and so have had to do them in the evening thus impacting on my following morning run.

I put the source of this problem down to three points. Firstly the weather has just been horrible for the last couple of weeks and when you hear rain and wind pounding against the window first thing it is so easy to think sod it I am sure it will be dry this evening (it never is). Secondly I am at the core not a morning person and so if a half decent excuse comes my way to not get out of bed at 5am then I am going to grab with both hands and third and finally I am just bored with the routes I am running. Yes they are nice easy flat routes and they are enabling me to get the mileage done, but they are boring boring runs. So I made the decision to find some new routes that are easily accessible for me and hopefully freshen things up a bit. So these are what I have found:

Mill Lakes

Mill Lakes

Mill Lakes

This is a pretty solid 10km run which I have done many times before and it is always good. I know what you are all saying, “well why don’t you do it more often then”? Well pretty simple really it is not that easy. I am not going to sit here and say it has monster climbs because it hasn’t but it is hardish work and when you are having to get up and do another 5, 8, or 10km the following day anything other than nice easy flat is not very appealing but I am bored and so I would rather work a little harder for some variety and plus it is such a nice run. You can pick the trail or the pavement and it runs all the way to Mill Lakes (there’s a surprise) where I can do a single .75km or multiple laps of the lake depending on how fresh I’m feeling and then head home.

Bestwood Park

Climb to the top of bestwood park

Climb to the top of bestwood park

The Bestwood Park run follows the same route as the Mill Lakes run but splits at 4km and heads through a really nice wood and then up a pretty hefty climb to the park you then head back along the country roads through Bestwood, hooking back up with the Mill Lakes Trail this is a really great run if you are feeling a little more spritely but for that extra 2km there is   killer of a climb at about 6km in.

Highfields / Vernon Park

Highfields and Vernon parks

Highfields and Vernon parks

These are two small parks which are really nice for breaking my runs up Highfields is a boating lake near Nottingham University and is regularly used on the Robin Hood Marathon route, and now regularly used by myself on my run home from work and Vernon Park which was recently visited by the Queen (how posh are we in Notts) is just round the corner from my house and I have added it to my mundane morning ring road run and so far it has done the trick. So these runs have really helped freshen things up, what has also helped to freshen me up is the freezing temperatures and snow.

So I knew it was coming but still when I woke up on the official first day of spring and I was greeted with a blizzard it still came as something of a surprise. Friday was just horrible it snowed all day, the only saving grace is that at least it didn’t settle. Even so I headed out into it and managed to get a lively 5km in at something like a decent pace. As I got ready for bed I looked out of the window and saw no snow on the ground phew we had gotten away with it, how wrong I was. I woke on the Saturday to a good covering of snow (probably a good 3inches) but it was still pelting down and it didn’t stop for the next two days.

Nice 11km snow run

Nice 11km snow run

Now time for an observation/moan/gripe whatever you want to call it, and no it is not really about snow in spring. The snow was a bit of a pain yes but once I was out in it, it was such great fun up on the Mill lakes trail and then up to Bestwood Park on the Sunday ploughing through sometimes nearly a foot of fresh snow it was great fun, and I would recommend everyone getting out in it rather than boring yourself half to death on a ‘Dreadmill’. No my moan is not about running in the snow, my moan is this and yes I know this is going to make me sound really old.

When I was a kid at the first sight of a fleck of snow our parents would pretty much have to chain us down to try and stop us going out to play in it, whether that be sledging, snowball fights, building snowmen and pretty rubbish igloos whatever it was the bottom line was we could not wait to get out and have fun in it. On my Saturday and Sunday runs I saw the sum total of two children with sledges and that was it, I didn’t see a single snowman I didn’t see a single snowball being thrown and I only saw one family out for a walk, and all I could think to myself was are PlayStations and X box’s really that good???

Now I am not ancient I may sound it but I’m not, we had computer games and TV when we were kids but they were cast aside when the opportunity arose to go sledging or bury your little brother in the snow (sorry Gaz). So what has changed?? Yes the weather has been a bit rubbish over the last couple of months but it is not that often you have a good 7-8 inches of snow in Nottingham especially in the city, and it did make me feel a little sad that there was no one out enjoying it. Did anyone else who braved the conditions find this??

So that’s me for another week any feedback on the points raised would be great just really so I don’t feel like the only old fart out there 🙂

4 thoughts on “Spring running in a foot of snow (week 12 review)

  1. Ha! No, not an old fart. I completely get your rant. My Saturday run was refreshing b/c I saw families running along the river together here in Richmond. That gave me hope! The photos of your new routes are lovely. And the Nottingham marathon sounds very cool. Keep changing it up! There’s a lot more miles to log. 🙂

  2. Hi Brendan, yep I get your point about the routes… as you might know from my own routes, they are pretty much always the same and I do get bored with them as well. So like yourself I try to vary the routes as much as possible. Like this week being up at the north sea or even go running at one of the lake sides… what ever makes a difference. It is difficult to stay motivated doing the same old same old… Nice pics of your new routes, they should be fun for a while.
    Guess you are not an old fart, however times are changing and kids prefer to text from the couch rather then being outside in the snow, as we used to be… 🙂
    Happy running…

  3. Pingback: No point in building on foundations of sand (Week 14 review) | 365 days 3000 km

  4. Pingback: No point in building on foundations of sand (Week 14 review) - 365 DAYS 3000KM - Blog - 365 DAYS 3000KM - The Running Bug Community

Let me know what you think

