A man can’t live on Juice alone (well not one that runs everyday anyway)

I decided last week after watching a program called http://www.fatsickandnearlydead.com/ by Australian Joe Cross that I would do a 5 day reboot. What this basically is, is 5 days of drinking nothing but juice sounds crazy but sounded for to interesting to me to give it a miss plus it was a great excuse to buy a cool gadget for the kitchen. So I downloaded the 5 day plan Juice reboot 5 day plan and bought myself a fancy new toy.

Sage Juicer

Sage Juicer

Alongside doing this my fellow run streaker over in America Kristen Reece asked if I would be interested in doing a food diary again for this week so a tad late but here we go.

Monday :

Breakfast

Sunrise : 2 Oranges, 4 Carrots and 1 Beetroot

Sunrise Juice

Mid morning

330ml Can of Coconut Water

Lunch & Mid Afternoon

Green Lemonade: 3 handfuls of Spinach, 6 Cabbage Leaves, 1 apple, 1 cucumber, 2 celery sticks and 1 Lemon

Evening Meal

Garden Variety: 2 Apples, 2 Cucumbers, 6 Cabbage Leaves, 1 handful Parsley

Dessert

Water Melon Crush: half Watermelon, 1 lime & 1 handful Basil leaves

Tuesday

Breakfast

Carrot, Apple and Ginger: 3 Carrots, 2 Apples and 1 inch of Ginger root

Mid morning

330ml Can of Coconut Water

Lunch and Mid afternoon

Joe’s Mean Green: 6 Cabbage leaves, 1 Cucumber, 2 Celery Stalks, 1 Apple, half Lemon and 1 inch of Ginger root

Evening Meal

4 apples, 1 head of brocoli, 2 sticks celery, 2 handfuls Spinach, 1 handful Mint leaves, 1 Cucumber.

Dessert 

Quarter pineapple, half cucumber, 1 apples, 1 handful spinach 1 lemon

On my run that evening it became very clear to me that I was not getting enough fuel for me to continue running everyday. The program is designed to give you about 1200 calories per day and although I had increased the amount I was consuming I was just not getting enough compared to what I was burning off. I decided that I wanted to continue with the reboot but would have to tweak it slightly, so I decided to have a juice for Breakfast and then 1 normal meal be that at lunch or in the evening with a juice for the other so here is how Wednesday went.

Wednesday

Breakfast

Water Melon Crush: half Watermelon, 1 lime & 1 handful Basil leaves

Mid morning

330ml Can of Coconut Water

Lunch

Cheese, air cured ham, spinach, watercress, rocket and cucumber sandwhich

Cheese, air cured ham, spinach, watercress, rocket and cucumber sandwhich

Followed by

Fresh Fruit

Fresh Fruit

Mid afternoon snack

Mixed nuts and dried fruit

Evening Meal

2 apples, 2 pears, 1 head of Brocolli, 2 sticks celery, 2 handfuls Spinach, 1 handful Mint leaves, 1 Cucumber.

Dessert

Rhubarb, Pineapple and Blueberry.

Well that’s mid week hit and my run tonight felt so much better plenty of power in the legs and plenty of fuel in the tank so happy happy days fingers crossed this continues and please check out Kristens page at http://makingitdaily.wordpress.com/author/khubs1/

3 thoughts on “A man can’t live on Juice alone (well not one that runs everyday anyway)

    • I found I had a real rollercoaster of energy I would get a real high were I felt maxed on power but then would crash as if I had nothing left in the tank only to then get another high, it felt really weird. Hopefully adding the solid meal will help both of us.

  1. Thanks for the shout out, Brendon! I cannot imagine running daily and not having a solid meal, even for only a week. Looks like you made a good choice tweaking the plan. And looks like healthy eats! I’ll update my week so far tomorrow. Cheers!

Let me know what you think

