Review of the Inov8 Road X-Lite 155

Inov8 Road X-Lite 155

Inov8 Road X-Lite 155

RRP: £95

Model Name: Road X-Lite 155

Surface: Road

Type: Minimal lightweight racing flat

Rating (out of 5 stars): 4

Key features

  • Anatomic Fit: Based on the shape of the foot
  • Extremely lightweight
  • Only a 3mm drop

Review intro

The X-lite 155’s are sold as an extremely lightweight racing flat and they certainly are that. Due to an anatomic fit there is plenty of space in the toe box and with a 3mm drop they are super flat to the road and offer a great responsive ride.

Body of review

When I received the 155’s I was expecting a very lightweight shoe and with them weighing in at just a smidge over 300 grams for the pair, I was not disappointed.   I took them on a 6km run not really knowing what to expect. I am a natural midfoot striker so am used to a small drop, but 3mm was a whole new experience for me.   With a 6mm sole and a large responsive contact area, I expected to feel every little bump clattering my fillings out, but this couldn’t be further from the truth. I really felt as though I was interacting with the road- the natural strength and agility of my foot working in tandem with the shoe to propel me down my chosen route. That was until the laces came undone, they are just far too short.   I don’t have a particularly wide foot but there was no way I was getting a double loop out of these laces without crushing the top of my foot. In addition, due to the light weight, minimal nature of these shoes, I would not look at running anything more than a half marathon distance in them.

Verdict

These shoes do exactly what they say on the tin they are “extremely lightweight racing flat’s” and I really enjoyed running in them. As mentioned I would not take them over 13.1 miles but I will definitely be racing in these 155’s next season on my short course Triathlons.

Let me know what you think

